The Perfectly Realistic Holiday

by MomsOnTheMend

Good morning and Happy Thanksgiving… Today you are going to choose how this holiday will turn out. Yep, that’s what I said, you are going to choose how this wonderful God-given day will turn out. How? Why? Because you can… He chose you to be born and He chose you to be present today. He chose you! You were hand-picked to read this today. There are no coincidences. So, you wonder… what does this have to do with anything? This has to do with everything… absolutely everything!

Remember back to your young school days. You are standing in a group of kids, and two captains are chosen,  you were either confidently waiting to be picked or you were insecurely hoping to be picked. I have great news! In the kingdom of our Lord and Saviour, we are all chosen. The catch here is … will you choose Him back?

Life is hard and sometimes utterly painful especially when the Holidays roll around. These are the days that you are more sensitive to things like family, being single, not being with your children or on another note you become overwhelmed with generosity to help others. I had a friend of mine share with me tonight how the holiday “mumbo Jumbo”, you know, the advertising hype of romance and family… the perfect appearing world holiday stuff, had her down. I understood where she was coming from completely. Since I was a little girl I had this fantasy of my family being together for the holidays. Most of my family lived 1500 miles away in those days. I remember standing in my bedroom window, with a christmas candle glistening off the glass,  my little nose was so close I could feel the cold from outside and if I let out a breath it would fog the glass for a moment. I would gaze out the window and just dream of all of my family around the table for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Random memory’s would surface to my mind  when we used to all be together. One of the memories is of my grandpa going into the chest freezer. It is such a simple memory, although when I think about it, I can clearly see him taking the pretty glass swan and place mat off the freezer so he could get to the ice cream. Grandma always had these colored Tupperware bowls and spoons next to the freezer on a small table. I never remember him scowling at the fact that grandma had to decorate the top of the freezer with a very large nik nak. It appeared to be a lot of work though for a bowl of ice cream. It is a miracle that the beautiful glass swan never was broken, at least I do not remember it being broken …  however, moving it back and forth and back and forth… to get to the ice cream. Anyway… this simple memory kept me hopeful that one day we would have the perfect family holiday’s in the future again.

Then there comes a day, when you are all grown,  all of your holiday dreams come true and… BAM! all those perfect fantasized holidays become perfectly realistic holidays.  Now, I am not saying this is all bad… but, I am saying the fantasy is not always as we imagine it. I am sure you can think of an example off the top of your head… right?

In this case disappointment may set in. We have an expectation that exceeds the reality. The exposure to the media and how the holidays are perceived and planted into our brains has set us up for disappointment and disappointment is painful. Soooo…. these scripture help me in these moments.

In all ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path. Proverbs 3:6

He that is in me is greater than he who is in the world. 1 John 4:4

I had a very special friend tell me a few years ago, when I was going through a very challenging time in my life, that from this day forward you can choose how your life will be. I remember the conversation well. The Fall is my favorite season of the year. The radiant colors, pumpkins, Mums, corn stalks, the smell in the air of the dry leaves and the anticipation for snow. Mmmm… We were having a conversation and I discovered how it seemed that the Fall was when I experienced most of my life challenges. It was almost seasonal. This really upset me. This is my favorite season and I felt as though I could never enjoy it. Hm? My sweet friend turned to me and said “You have eliminated the problem and now you have no excuse to not make every Fall from this day forward what you want it to be.”

This did not set in with me right away… but, when the next Fall season came around, I remembered and I made the choice to make it a good season. This does not mean that there aren’t any challenges. There are. The important concept here is that I changed my circumstances and now I had no excuse… I get to choose to enjoy my life. In the word God says in John 10:10, ” I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance.”

So, today… choose how your Thanksgiving day will be, disregarding possible disappointments and the perfectly realistic holiday mumbo jumbo . Think of five things that you are grateful for and do not let anyone take that away from you today.

Happy Thanksgiving & Abundant Life and Blessing to You today and always! 

Stacy Rae

