Home Made Laundry Detergent… Love it!

by MomsOnTheMend

About a month ago a friend gave me a jug of home-made laundry detergent.  I found this very interesting and I was excited to try it right away. It was different, but I kept an open mind. There were a few lumps in it and it seem to separate if the container sat for a while. To my surprise, I was concerned that it would leave clumps of goo on our clothes, no such thing occurred and I love it.

Today I made my first batch.  First, I have to share the cost savings here. I am guessing it cost me approx $1.25 to make 5 gallons of laundry detergent. 

 

I just want to share how I made this, so you too, can save. I changed the process and the order of how to add the ingredients from the original recipe that I received, to my surprise I only had a few little lumps and my detergent did not separate and it has stayed intact. 

Below are the ingredients you need and the approximate cost to purchase.

Super Washing Soda

Aprox $2.50 – $3.00

 Fels-Naptha

Approx $0.97 – $1.50

Borax

Approx $2.50 – $3.50

 

 

Other Supplies

                                                                                                                                       

In addition, you need 5 one gallon containers. I recommend a heavier clear plastic container. I use apple juice container’s as shown in the picture above. The clear plastic allows you to see what you’re doing as you add contents to the container and the thicker plastic tolerates the heat of the liquid contents while making the detergent. You can re-use the containers over and over.

To get started get all of your supplies ready in a comfortable work space.

Be careful!!! You will be working with hot water.

 

 How to make home-made laundry detergent…

1. Grate Fels-Naptha with the very fine side of the cheese grater.  Set aside in a bowl.

2. Boil water.

3. Pour 4 cups of boiling water in glass measuring bowl.

4. Add 1/2 cup of Borax.

5. Add 1 cup of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda.

Stir with whisk until dissolved….

6. Add Fels-Naptha to mixture and whisk until dissolved.  (Some people microwave contents… I personally did not need to do so. I wrapped a towel around the bottom of the bowl to keep it warm as I stirred the mixture.)

7. Have all 5 empty containers ready and pour the mixture in even amounts into each container. There will only be a small amount of concentrated mixture in each container.

8. Refill glass measuring bowl full of boiling water and then pour another small amount of hot water into each container in even amounts. This will assist in the final melting of the concentrated mixture. Gently swirl each container to mix. Be careful… contents will be hot.

9. After each container has been mixed, refill the glass measuring bowl with hot faucet water as many times as you need and fill each container. (If you fill containers directly with the faucet itself it will cause foaming and the container is harder to fill.)  Leave 1-2 inches of free space from the opening at the top of the container. This allows room to shake after the lid is applied.

10. Apply all of the lids to the containers and carefully shake each container randomly, multiple times, until they cool. There will be approximately 1 inch of  foamy mixture at the top of the detergent and there may be some small lumps. As you perfect your process it will get better. Have Fun 🙂

I personally have utilized bleach and Downy fabric softener with my detergent and I have not had any abnormal outcomes… I love the feel, fresh smell and cleanliness of this mixture. My whites are white and our clothes are clean. I am a perfectionist in many ways and I love it!  Stacy Rae

That’s it, you are done….

Now you can enjoy making your own laundry detergent and save $$$.

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

